• All things growth
  • Posts
  • šŸš€ I launched my first product and here is the blueprint + results

šŸš€ I launched my first product and here is the blueprint + results

This is ep. 2 of the new rubric, documenting my journey as a new founder.

Recap: Earlier this week I shared that I left my tech job to become a full-time founder. In just 2 weeks I launched a whole new product (getavatars.ai), an AI headshot tool, that let's you generate hyper-realistic headshots in any style you want (e.x bodybuilder, pope, news anchor, etc) in under 1 minute āœØ

In this blog, Iā€™ll talk about:

  • prepping for the launch

  • launching the product

  • outcomes

    • TL;DR:

      • 2,268 images generated

      • 91 upvotes and 25 comments on ProductHunt (you can still upvote if you havenā€™t)

      • 124 retweets on X

      • 12 paying customers

šŸ—ļø Prep

I knew that if I play my cards right, the launch day would create this momentum, making your product go viral (or at least semi-viral).

Ahead of the launch date, I lined up a couple of promotional initiatives to go out that day:

  • Influencer marketing (threads on X, newsletters, IG stories)

  • ProductHunt page

  • Email marketing

  • Posting in Telegram channels and Reddit threads

I also launched Google Ads, but paused it a couple hours later, thinking it may skew the results and I wouldnā€™t know for sure what worked and what didnā€™t.

šŸŽ‰ Launch Day

On the launch day, I was truly following Paul Grahamā€™s theory, ā€˜Do things that donā€™t scaleā€™, including:

  • came up to each person at F.inc to ask for ProductHunt upvotes

  • messaged every single person I know ever

  • posted on relevant Reddit threads and Telegram channels

  • posted on all of my personal channels

  • asked people to post in Slack communities theyā€™re part of

  • went to a coffee shop and asked random people to upvote (itā€™s not that unusual for SF)

šŸ«” Results

After 1 day of all the launch activities, I got the following results:

  • 2,268 images generated

  • 91 upvotes and 25 comments on ProductHunt (please upvote if you havenā€™t)

  • 124 retweets on X

  • 12 paying customers šŸŽ‰

    Let me share some trends Iā€™m seeing:

    1. WAU:

    WAU

    1. Image generation by source. As you can see t.co is the second biggest traffic source of the day, so those influencer threads seem to be working.

    Images generated by source


    1. Funnel - thatā€™s where it gets interesting. As you can see our sign up page sucks and not many make it to the next step. So, thatā€™s the next focus area.

Funnel

Subscribe to Katya Fuentes's newsletter (premium access) to read the rest.

Become a paying subscriber of Katya Fuentes's newsletter (premium access) to get access to this post and other subscriber-only content.

Already a paying subscriber? Sign In